Choose to See a Better Day

Monica Scalf
3 min readApr 11, 2019

I graduated to wearing readers a couple of years ago, but I think it’s time for a new prescription. My arms don’t seem to be long enough for me to focus on tiny print that used to be so easy to read.

Even though another trip to the eye doc will be a reminder that I’m getting older, I also know it will be a whole lot easier to read stuff once my prescription is adjusted.

At times, we also need an adjustment on the lenses through which we look at life. We can make things a whole lot easier on ourselves if we simply adjust the “glasses” we are looking through.

A pair I have had difficulty resisting throughout the years are my “worry/fear” glasses. I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ve struggled with letting fear be a prominent emotion in my life. This year, I feel like I’ve made real progress resisting the urge to see everything through these lenses, but it has taken some real mental and emotional discipline.

While working with a number of people in my day job, I’ve noticed that a lot of people get up each day and put on their “comparison” glasses. They look at everything through the lens of wondering why someone else seems so much richer, smarter, skinnier, funnier, etc. These glasses are excellent for highlighting what you’re lacking instead of seeing what you already have.

Comparison glasses are especially hard to resist because they seem to convince the wearer that all of the other people have some kind of built in advantage. Just like the “fear” glasses, “comparison” glasses can keep us stuck and unhappy.

Putting on glasses like these every day is equal to inviting a whole slew of negative emotions to set up camp and exist indefinitely in your life. And when you’re mired in negative emotions, it’s really tough to change anything or make positive forward progress. There are all kinds of versions of these glasses … busy glasses, woe is me glasses, I can’t ever get a break glasses, life is hard glasses, anger and resentment glasses, and on and on and on.

The good news is that there are an equal amount of glasses that help to create more positive emotions in your life. Gratitude glasses, compassion glasses, humor glasses, love glasses, abundance glasses, and yes, even the infamous rose colored glasses (which by the way aren’t nearly as destructive as some of the pairs mentioned in the negative category above).

The way you SEE the world matters. It matters to you AND it matters to the people around you. If not for you, change the way you see things for those that spend time with you and love you.

You get to wake up each day and select from an endless array of glasses. Pick ones that allow you to see and be the good in the world.

There’s always a more beautiful world just waiting to be seen by you.

If you liked this article, follow @crazygrateful on instagram or visit www.crazygrateful.com.

--

--

Monica Scalf

I write about topics that help you have a better day. Author of Live in the Little, Founder of The Work Well Group, Creator Crazygrateful.com